Well Begun is Half Done

These words of Mary Poppins rung in my ears as I unlaced my shoes after my baseline test last night.

For some reason, all day I was dreading this task. I think a lot of it was the reality of just how far 5k (3.1 miles) was. Some of it might have been a fear of failure, or even general laziness. But I still laced up my shoes and went for it.

I was pleasantly surprised at the result.

First of all I survived the 5k “run.” I use the term “run” loosely, because I pretty much briskly walked the whole thing, with a little bit of jogging at one point. I’ll admit, though, by the last 0.1 of a mile I felt kinda like this

3q0tsb

But I did make it all the way to the end.

Actually I did more than that. I made it all the way to the end faster than I expected. Because I knew I’d be walking pretty much the whole distance, I expected my time to be somewhere around an hour and a half.

I completed 3.11 mi (I didn’t get the app that was keeping track of my distance and time stopped right away, hence the extra 0.01 miles) in just under an hour! That is still above the required pace for RunDisney events, but only by about 10 minutes.

Hubby joined me for the baseline, and he’ll be joining me for the training, as he is using the program for a behavior modification assignment for his Health Psychology class. While he isn’t in great shape, he’s always been more athletic than me. So I expected him, even with pushing our 2 year old in the stroller, to out pace me. I figured when we got to the end he’d be waiting and I’d be like

anigif_enhanced-buzz-386-1406282561-4

But I pretty much kept pace with him the whole time. He did get about 25 seconds ahead of me at one point, but I jogged a little and caught up to him fairly easily.

The baseline really put this whole thing into perspective for me. Suddenly reaching a 16 min/mi pace doesn’t seem that impossible, and the goal of eventually running a half marathon at a pace faster than that by this time next year seems almost attainable.

I’m actually kind of excited about this whole thing, and that’s a good thing.

Tuesday is our first day of following the program, and I’m actually looking forward to it.

 

Baseline Stats 9/13/2014

Distance: 5k (3.11 mi)

Time: 57 minutes 22 seconds

Average Pace: 19 minutes 4 seconds per mile

Motivation: 5 (for the record, I slept in that morning, which helped a lot, most of the week I was a 3 or lower)

Emotion: 4 (again, I was having a good day compared to the rest of the week, when I was hovering around a 2 or 3)

One thought on “Well Begun is Half Done

Leave a Reply

