Hakuna Matata

That became my motto this past week, as it was a long and difficult weekend.

Our trip to Disney World was great. We got to ride the Studio Backlot Tour and Maelstrom one more time before their closing. And I always have fun at the parks. EJ and Hubby had fun too; EJ is becoming a pro a this Disney World thing. He absolutely loves being at Magic Kingdom.

Unfortunately we did not end up running while in Orlando. By the time evening came around we were just ready to load up and get home. My pedometer said I walked over 10 miles throughout the course of the day, and on top of that I spend most of Wednesday night not sleeping because I ended up having a panic attack.

tumblr_m21psqZTkZ1qko7hb

I was like this…

46-grafik_tasarimci_ile_cikmamak_icin_50_neden(1)

…but my brain was like this.

The worst part is, I have not idea what triggered the attack. Usually it is caused by thinking about something stressful that I have absolutely no control over. That night my brain was just like “ok PANIC” I was literally thinking about nothing and I still couldn’t calm down.

So we decided to postpone Thursday’s run and do it Friday, then we’d do our Weekend Run on Sunday, so as not to mess up the schedule.

Friday’s run went well. It wasn’t a great run, as my legs were still mad at me for the day at Disney, but it wasn’t a horrible run either.

Sunday was a day. I was really depressed most of the day. Try as I might I just couldn’t deal with anything. It didn’t help that I had a major headache in the afternoon, right before a rainstorm moved in. I knew I needed to run, and in fact I wanted to run. I may not be feeling any long term effects on my mood from the runs, but I do feel an immediate effect afterwards. So I was looking forward to running that night. So I did my best No Rain Dance

No Rain Dance

because I did not want to go run on a treadmill.

I had to use a treadmill as part of my therapy after a car accident that broke my back a few years ago. Let’s just say that treadmills and I don’t really get along.

Mike-Running-on-Treadmill-Monsters-Inc

Thankfully it cleared up enough that we were able to run outside without a problem.

Had another panic attack yesterday, it left me on edge and with frayed nerves the entire day. I’m doing better today, but I feel like I was attacked by a sock monkey in my sleep last night.

sock monkey

They may look cute, but that’s how they get you. And because of the plush they don’t leave bruises, so there is no evidence of the attack, other than a general soreness all over.

We will see how tonight’s run goes.

 

And now for the stats!

Week 2, Day 2 Stats 9/26/2014

Distance: 2.11 miles

Time: 33 minutes 52 seconds

Average Pace: 16 minutes 55 seconds per mile

Motivation: 5

Emotion: 3

AND

Week 2, Day 3 Stats 9/28/2014

Distance: 2.31 miles

Time: 38 minutes 10 seconds

Average Pace: 17 minutes 31 seconds per mile

Motivation: 2

Emotion: 1

 

 

3 thoughts on “Hakuna Matata

    • Thanks. I’ve been sleeping better the last few nights.
      I haven’t had any more panic attacks, but my heartrate has been randomly spiking, so we ended up postponing last night’s run.
      My husband coined the “sock monkey” description. After one particularly rough night he said I looked like I “had been in a bar fight with a sock monkey”

      Like

Leave a Reply

