Are You Really Going to Let Fear Control Your Life?

Sorry I didn’t post an update on Thursday, I had a super busy day getting ready to host the town science club’s first real meeting. We did experiments with Mentos and Coke (and various other sodas) with about a dozen elementary through high school kids. Fun was had by all.

I also had this entire post written on my phone and ready to publish once I got to the computer to add images, but the wordpress app didn’t save it correctly so I lost about half of my work and by the time I got back from running I decided I’d just finish it today and make it another two run update.

Hubby wasn’t feeling very good on Tuesday, so we postponed the run to Wednesday. So as not to mess up the schedule too much we did Thursday’s run last night and will do the weekend run on Sunday, then go back to Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday for week 4.

I can’t say that Wednesday’s run was great but it wasn’t terrible. This week started longer run intervals. After the warmup it was 90 seconds of jogging, 90 seconds of walking, followed by 3 minutes of jogging, and 3 minutes of walking, then repeat.
I can’t say I really struggled during the 3 minute runs, but it wasn’t easy either. But 3 weeks ago I would have felt like I was dying after more than 90 seconds of jogging, so it’s the little victories I guess. Rome wasn’t built in a day, as they say.

tumblr_inline_my3xw1Bo791ro8qpo

Despite the perceived success, this was Hubby and me at the end of the workout

Now before I tell the story of what happened during the run that prompted using that quote for my title, I need to give you a bit of background. I live in Ave Maria, a tiny town built up around a Catholic University in the middle of nowhere Florida. It very much looks like a suburban town, but it is literally in the middle of nowhere; surrounded by swamp and forest and 10 miles from the next nearest town.
When I was a Freshman at the University (about 6 years ago) if you were walking around at night (I’m a night owl so I did that a lot) you had to worry about wild boars. Those things are mean and aggressive, not to mention an invasive species. But apparently there was someone in the community who hunted them for sport, as you don’t see or hear them much anymore. My senior year the town started having problems with bears. As the area develops the bears have less available food sources, so they come into the town to loot the garbage. One bear got particularly aggressive and was seen in the middle of town in the middle of the day. That bear was eventually killed after charging an officer. The town still has bears stop by every so often, but the town in very proactive about keeping trashcans in the garage & other measures to avoid encouraging the bear to come visit.

tumblr_m94ihehxH61r60ml4o1_500
It has been over a month since the last bear sighting I’ve heard about (they are typically reported on the community Facebook group and/or on a text alert system that had been set up).

Now we usually run at night. This is for 2 reasons. First, I am NOT a morning person

One of the many reasons why Anna is my spirit princess

One of the many reasons why Anna is my spirit princess

Eventually I’ll start working on getting up early to run, but this is baby steps, so I’m just going to start by running. The second reason is that Hubby doesn’t get home from work/school until about 8:30.

Hubby pushes EJ in a jogging stroller, because what else are we going to do with a 2 year old while we run for 30 minutes?

We live in a neighborhood on the edge of town, but only about 1 mile from the town center, so we run towards the town center, since that has the most well lit sidewalks to run on.

So Wednesday night we were out for our run at about 9:30 pm. Just before we hit our halfway point we were stopped by a lady in a car after crossing the street.

This was frustrating because no one wants to be stopped in the middle of a workout. I tried my best to keep my legs moving, but its not easy when you have to stay in one place. It was also frustrating because of the nature of the conversation.

She started by asking “Do you live here?”

“Yes” we responded

“So you know about the bear problem?”

“Yes”

“I saw you jogging with the baby and I though ‘maybe they are visitors and don’t know'”

“Nope, we know”

“And you’re not worried?”

“Nope we run on well lit paths towards the center of town”

“A jogger ran into the bear by the [K-12] School. You’re not worried?”

“Nope”

My face during the entire conversation

My face during the entire conversation

Somehow the back and forth finally ended. If it had gone on much longer I would have been like “Look. When did the jogger see the bear by the school (which is far from well lit and past where we were). Did he get mauled/eaten? Did he get chased by the bear? Did the bear show any sort of aggression towards him? If not then it really doesn’t matter. Also, I’ve lived in rural areas for about half of my life. I grew up learning what to do if we encountered a bear while out playing/hiking. I learned basic bear saftey: Don’t go out alone, if you see a bear back away slowly, if that is not possible shout at the bear and tell it to move along and get out of here or otherwise make lots of noise, as they typically are more afraid of us than we are of them”

Now if there had been recent bear sightings, we might think twice about where we run, and if there was an aggressive bear around we might think twice about running at night. But if we live our life in fear of something like a bear, we will never get anything done.

Right after we resumed our workout we came across about half a dozen deer, just hanging out in the grass right next to the path we were on. I highly doubt they would be chilling out in the open like that if there was a bear nearby.

I tried to get a picture, but EJ was fussing and scared them away before I could get close enough for a picture.

Last night’s run as fairly uneventful. The 3 minute runs are still tough, but I’m doing better. I only start feeling like I’m not going to make it during the last 30 seconds, which is an improvement from Wednesday when I thought I was going to die about 2 minutes into the 3 minute jog.

The best thing about last night’s run was drinking. We finally got some good water bottles. We ended up getting the Camelbak eddy

This is what I feel like when I drink now.

This is what I feel like when I drink now.

So far I really like it. The Bite and Sip cap is really easy to use while jogging and it is easy to carry (which is good because they are just barely too big for the jogging stroller’s cup holders. But since we are borrowing the stroller from a neighbor until we can afford to own one, we will be sure to take a bottle with us when picking out our own jogging stroller).

(NB these opinions are my own, I have not been paid or otherwise compensated to say any of this)

Looking at all the posts for the Tower of Terror this weekend, I’ve decided that instead of making my first RunDisney race the next year’s Wine and Dine, I’m going to attempt to do the 10 Miler. I will definitely do the Happy Haunted 5k Trail Run next year, and I’m pretty confident that I’ll be able to do a 10 mile run in 12 months. I still will try to do the Wine and Dine, but Tower of Terror looks so fun!

I’ve got to start saving up, because my list of Disney races I want to do is growing rapidly.

So far I hope to do:

Tower of Terror 2015 (and/or)

Wine and Dine 2015

Princess Half Marathon 2016

Tinkerbell Half Marathon 2016

In 2017 I’m hoping to not only be running marathons, but attempting some of the challenges, like Pixie Dust or Goofy. But that’s a long way off, since I’m still training to run a 5k, but I like having clear goals to keep me motivated.

And now for the moment you’ve all been waiting for: STATS!

Week 3, Day 1 Stats 10/01/2014

Distance: 1.74 miles

Time: 30 minutes 38 seconds

Average Pace: 18 minutes per mile

Motivation: 7 (I made a dinner that was more than just putting something in the crock pot)

Emotion: 4

AND

Week 3, Day 2 Stats 10/03/2014

Distance: 1.77 miles

Time: 28 minutes 56 seconds

Average Pace: 17 minutes 05 seconds per mile

Motivation: 4

Emotion: 3

5 thoughts on “Are You Really Going to Let Fear Control Your Life?

  1. WalkToRio says:

    No doubt you’ll be able to tun 10 miles.
    In here there’s no wildlife unless you count the drunk teenagers on weekends and the skaters going crazy.
    When we go to the country, I have to keep an eye on Doggy because of the boars, his instinct is to go after them and their instinct is to protect their offsprings.
    Have a nice week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

