The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

(I know my titles are always Disney quotes or references…but Disney is releasing the Alexander movie soon, so it counts!)

Yesterday really sucked. It was just a REALLY bad day.

Todays_been_a_no_good_very_bad

It started at 3 am. I couldn’t sleep so I did what I’ve done in that situation (I have insomnia so it happens frequently) for the last 3 years: I watch Mythbusters on Netflix. It is the perfect thing for me to fall asleep watching. There is no storyline, so I don’t get caught up in the show and end up staying up all night binge watching.
So I started an episode and dozed off about halfway through. During the last 5 minutes of the episode EJ woke up crying, so hubby brought him into bed with us. This of course woke me up, so I rolled over, gabbed the Roku remote and pressed play.
And that is when my world was turned upside down.
Netflix informed me that Mythbusters was no longer available for streaming.

First I was like this

In a panic I went online, and sure enough Discovery Channel & Netflix had not renewed their contract, so Mythbusters, Dirty Jobs, and every other show from the Discovery channels were no longer avaliable.
So my friend gave me his Hulu login, but Hulu doesn’t have it either. Neither does Amazon Prime. In fact the ONLY way I could watch it was to pay $2 per episode on Amazon.

First I was like this

Then I was like this

My life was OVER

This was a soul shattering (or as my phone autocorrected it Soul Shatnering) revelation.

My soul is overreacting to the loss of my shows, so I guess "Soul Shnatnering" is not inaccurate

My soul is overreacting to the loss of my shows, so I guess “Soul Shnatnering” is not inaccurate

It took me an hour to stop freaking out.
Then another hour to find something else to watch, as everything else I watch was no longer available. Carl Sagan’s Cosmos? Gone. Avatar the Last Airbender? Gone.

Basically I felt like this

Basically I felt like this

I went through my queue and discovered that Doctor Who and Firefly were missing.

Which made me feel like this

Which made me feel like this

I started to panic all over again, then I did a search & found them, apparently they had somehow just been removed from my queue.

I finally settled on Anthony Bourdain’s Parts Unknown and dozed off.

Hubby came in and woke me up at 11 (after about 3.5 hours of sleep) wanting me to watch EJ so he could do some yardwork.
Let’s just say I wasn’t happy. Especially because he knew I didn’t get much sleep. An hour later he offered to do it later so I could sleep, but at that point I was awake.

anigif_enhanced-27039-1408999402-22

I gave Hubby a look like this

At 2 he came in & took a shower then made lunch. At that point I was ready to drop, and I tried to continue to make it clear that I was far from functioning. But he insisted on leaving to go meet with his lab partner to study before work, meaning he’d be gone until 9pm.
I hoped he would have been sympathetic to how I was feeling enough that he would have canceled with his lab partner, especially since I had explicitly said he should earlier in the day.
When I literally started feeling ill, I texted him and he came home.

cat-jumps-onto-beanbag-gif

“Go Sleep” “You don’t have to tell me twice”

I got to take a 2 hour nap, which helped a bit.
But I was still exhausted when he had to leave for work.
I ended up falling asleep on the couch and EJ got into the office. He did this to the keyboard.

1450951_10154754527540160_6664526407657068834_n

Thankfully we already had a keyboard ordered (two of the keys were already missing), but it will make using the laptop (which is already on its last leg anyways) a challenge until the keyboard arrives.

Thanks to the nap, I felt well enough to run last night, or so I thought.
I started out strong, but I felt myself running out of steam. I knew my pace was going to be terrible, but I thought I was going to make it. Then about 45 seconds in to the last 3 minute run I started gagging. I slowed down to a walk, and tried to start running again. By the end of the 3 minute run I was throwing up. I was able to complete the workout (I discussed why vomiting isn’t a big deal for me here), but since I didn’t really do the second 3 minute run I’m going to redo the workout tonight.

If I had my way I would have had a redo on the whole day

pooh do over

I got a decent night’s sleep last night, so I’m doing much better today, so I’m confident I’ll be able to actually finish the workout.

Instead of putting them on my next post, I’ll just update this post to add the new stats after tonight’s run.

Update 10/7
I finished the redo of the run last night.
I want to say it was easy, but it wasnt, but that was my fault.
I ran on my own, so I decided to listen to music. I put on Grim Grinning Ghosts from the Haunted Mansion. It’s a great song, but the tempo is a bit fast. Without realizing it I walked my warm up WAY faster than I normally do, so by the time I got to the end of the first 3 minute jog I was starting to gag. The fact that the weather is cooler didn’t help, as I’m not used to breathing the thinner, less humid air.
So between the jog & the walk I stopped for about 30 seconds to lower my heartrate. I then took the 3 minute walk a little slower than usual, so once I had to start jogging again I was feeling fine and completed the workout without a problem.

Take 2’s stats are below Take 1

Week 3, Day 3 (Take 1) Stats 10/05/2014

Distance: 1.85 miles

Time: 30 minutes 52 seconds

Average Pace: 17 minutes 27 seconds per mile

Motivation: 0

Emotion: 0

Week 3, Day 3 (Take 2) Stats 10/06/2014

Distance: 1.84 miles

Time: 32 minutes 59 seconds

Average Pace: 18 minutes 20 seconds per mile

Motivation: 4

Emotion: 3

5 thoughts on “The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

  1. WalkToRio says:

    I know the feeling when your favorite shoes are nor longer available.
    I have a serious issue with the Golden Girls. When I was in college I developed the habit of having on the as background noise when I had to pull all nighters.
    When I moved to Spain I realised I couldn’t sleep without watching an episode (an episode lasts me a week, I keep falling asleep). I started to look for episodes online and couldn’t find anything. I whined a lot, friends took pity and sent me the whole series DVD. A week after I received the DVDs someone had uploaded all the episodes to YouTube.
    Precious, now I could travel and not worry about carrying the DVDs.
    I went on vacations in February, confident they would be on YouTube, to my horror the account had been removed for copy rights violation.
    Same happened to Air Crash Investigation, my favorite show to watch on planes.
    Here’s to more night of decent sleep!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Soul Shatnering” is my new favorite phrase! Also, I totally get that TV thing. Dish Network (the only option offered in my condo) recently shut off Cartoon Network, so there went my nightly “King of the Hill” and “The Cleveland Show.” About a week before, Hub Network changed to Discovery Family and there went “Blossom.” And today, November FREAKIN’ 1st, Hallmark has started all Christmas movies, all the time until January. There went “The Golden Girls,” “Frasier,” “Cheers” and “I Love Lucy!”

    I’m ashamed because I realize this is SUCH a first-world problem, but my entire nightly viewing schedule disappeared in a matter of three weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

