The Cold Never Bothered Me Anyways

If you know me, you know that is a dirty lie. I’m a Southern Girl to the bone and I do NOT like the cold.

But for a brief but glorious weekend it was legitimately Fall in Southwest Florida. The temperature during the day was in the mid 60s to low 70s, which in my world is the absolute perfect temperature.
There was a briskness to the air and the wind was blowing. I’d even go so far as to say it was a blustery day.

image

Happy Winds Day!

It was a nice change from the upper 70s/low 80s we have had for the last few weeks.

EJ and I spend a lot of time outside and I felt kinda like this

image

I was legitimately enjoying the weather


Or at least I did until Sunset on Sunday. Then the temperature really started to drop. And I really started to dread that night’s run.

image

Ew

The dread was for two reasons:
The first is the fact that I have one set of workout clothes, which I bought back in August when I realized running in a cotton tshirt & blue jeans was not going to cut it. I chose things I’d be comfortable running in, since this was/is a whole new thing for me. While I had chosen long pants, the shirt I chose was sleeveless, because it was August in Florida. I knew I was going to freeze in that on Sunday.
The second reason is because cold air and my lungs don’t really get along. In years past when the weather started dipping down into the 50s just breathing could send me into gagging fits; so I was really concerned that I wasn’t going to get through the run.

Thankfully I found a thin athletic-style cotton hoodie that I hadn’t worn in years (I prefer thick cozy hoodies). It worked perfectly, as it was thick enough to keep me from freezing when we first got outside, but thin enough that I didn’t get overheated or felt nasty & sweat soaked in it during the run.
Now that is not to say I wasn’t cold, because this was very much me as we did our cool down walk home.
image

As far as the cold air and my lungs are concerned I actually did alright.
I made it through the whole run without gagging, stopping, or puking.
My lungs burned with each breath and my pace was slower than usual, but I made it.

I have no idea how you Northerners do it. I’m seriously in awe that any would do something like the NYC Marathon in the kind of weather New York had this weekend.

It warmed up yesterday and today, so I’m not too worried about tonight’s 25 minutes of running, and I’m hoping I can get my pace back down sub 17 min/mi, so long as rain and another cold front don’t move in tonight.

Hopefully I’ll be able to scrape together some money for a long sleeve running shirt.
It will be nice when I start running events and can build up at least my shirt collection.

Since all I have left of C25K is this week and next week; I was planning on registering to do the virtual Mustache Dash 5k at the end of the month, but our finances are so tight that I couldn’t spare the cash for the registration fee.

But I still have the Key West 5k to look forward to in January (and a bit more time to scrape together the funds).

Stats!

Week 6, Day 3 Stats 11/2/2014

Distance: 2.43 miles

Time: 39 minutes 56 seconds

Average Pace: 17 minutes 24 seconds per mile

Motivation: 5

Emotion: 7

11 thoughts on “The Cold Never Bothered Me Anyways

  1. You are one courageous mama! I haven’t done my workouts outside for a while now. It gets cold quite fast where I live and I haaate the cold. I’m definitely going to invest in a treadmill this winter!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is the beauty of Florida, there are only a few months (like 3-4) where it is miserably hot or miserably cold, the rest of the year it is perfect, and since I run at night even summer evenings aren’t bad. We will see how this winter goes, but I might be finding myself in the fitness center fairly soon if I don’t get some warmer work out clothes

      Like

  2. Wow! Here in Kansas City, we consider 50 degrees about PERFECT running temperature. I might go out in a long-sleeved technical shirt, but I’ll probably have the sleeves pushed up after a mile or two. The coldest I’ve ever run in was 13 degrees (F) around a windy stadium parking lot. (A 5K I won a free entry for.) And I’ve certainly suffered through a lot of 90+ degree runs.

    You’re right about not really feeling the cold when you run. You kind of know it’s there, but you don’t really care; you have too much else to manage to care about a trifle like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. WalkToRio says:

    Cold has never bothered me, I love it. Rain, snow, you name it, I love it.
    Now, the heat, kills me. I’m no human when temperature is over 85. Is getting cooler here which I love and so does my dog.
    You should get a wind breaker, I found a good deal on Amazon yesterday, I refuse to pay over 50 bucks for a jacket.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A windbreaker is a good idea. Since we are about an hour’s drive inland we get a lot of ocean breezes, especially when the cold fronts move in. I think that and a long sleeve tech shirt and I should be fine for the chilly weather.

      Like

Leave a Reply

