Late Night Running

For some unknown reason Hubby and I skipped our usual Sunday run and chose instead to run last night.

On the one hand, it was a great run; but on the other hand it was absolutely miserable.

The weather was warmer last night. It was in the upper 50s instead of the low 50s like it was for my runs last week. It seems like my threshold is about 55° anything above that I’m fine, but 55 and below and I’m miserable.

I was miserable last night anyways, but it wasn’t from the weather.

image

My response when AMIL asked how the run went

Hubby had a final exam last night and didn’t get home until after 10 pm. So it was about 10:30 when we headed out for our run, and after 11 by the time we got home.
Ordinarily we are back from our workout around 10/10:30.

Now because of my puking issues I try not to eat for several hours before running, so I always plan to just eat dinner after the workout. But because Hubby was home late, we didn’t head out until around the time we are usually eating dinner. So I was absolutely starving. And that had an effect on my run. I felt like I was running out of energy well before we hit the halfway point. It got so bad that I had to take an extended walk break. Even though we only went about 2.5 miles I felt like I was dying by the end of the workout.

image

How I felt by the end

But I survived, and all things considered it wasn’t a terrible run. But I’m hoping Wednesday’s run goes a bit better.

It’s also been a tough week for me emotionally. While I love having AMIL here, and she has already been a huge help; change is a difficult thing for me to deal with, and having her here is a BIG change. I’ll adjust eventually, but dealing with it on top of all the other stress in my life has made this week not exactly a good one on the emotional scale.

In other news, the Expedition Everest Challenge general registration opened today. I’ve already registered, but good luck to all of you who are trying to get a spot. I hope to see you at this farewell run of Disney’s only 5k obstacle course and scavenger hunt.

I haven’t told Hubby yet, but I’ve more or less decided on our costumes for the event. He’s going to be Imagineer Joe Rohde, and (depending on my time & resources) I’ll be one of three things: The Tree of Life, Everest mountain, or the Yeti.

And now for the Stats!

Week 2, Day 1 Stats 12/12/2014

Distance: 2.45 miles (+0.41)

Time: 41 minutes 30 seconds (+8:26)

Average Pace: 16 minutes 55 seconds per mile (+0:06)

Motivation: 2

Emotion: 3

Read about the equivalent day during C25K training here

Leave a Reply

