A Long Week

This week has been a long week. Hubby has worked late, EJ’s been miserable from growing pains, and I’m still trying to adjust to all the changes in the house with AMIL living with us.

I haven’t had any real bad anxiety or Depression episodes, but I’ve just been really blah lately. Some of that is the stress of the holidays, and bills, and adjusting to change. But I think a lot of my emotional issues over the last month can be blamed on my SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder). I know that SAD has been re-classified and renamed now that psychologists have a better understanding of it, but the average person still knows it as SAD so for now I still call it that. SAD is basically where depression is affected by the seasons, typically (as is in my case) getting worse in the winter months and better in the summer. So I guess it worked in my advantage that I took up running in August, I patterned the habit of running before the winter moved in and made it more challenging to find the motivation to get up and do it. I still have lots of days where I don’t want to run, but because it’s a habit I hate how I feel when I don’t, so I make myself do it anyways.

The worst part about this week was I missed a run, so I haven’t had my usual regular escape/release.

We ran on Thursday, then we ran last night to make up for the run we missed.

It was actually a fairly nice run Thursday night. I had a decent pace for most of the run. But I developed a stitch in my side just before we hit the halfway point. And I thought I was going to have a gagging fit at the end of the first run interval after the halfway point. I didn’t gag or puke, but I had to take an extra walk interval. But I made up for that by forgetting to unpause my timer when I started running again and thus running longer than I was supposed to.

Even with all of that, it was a really enjoyable run. The weather was gorgeous and since school is out we ran around the nearly empty AMU campus and enjoyed the change of scenery.

image

View of the Church from the AMU Campus

Last night’s run was nice and uneventful. We ran around the university campus again. The weather was almost perfect. I say almost perfect because it was just barely too cold to run without my jacket, but I was just barely too warm with it on.

But what made these runs super enjoyable was doing them with Hubby.

I’m not going to lie, my favorite part is the fact that it is just Hubby and I running alone. I thought I was going to miss having EJ along with us…and part of me does. But alone time with Hubby, especially time that isn’t spent getting ready for bed or sleeping, is not something I get a lot of; so it’s nice to have 30-45 minutes where the two of us are doing something together without having to worry about EJ or making sure he is happy/entertained. So I’m enjoying that.

I think Hubby & I are going to try to put aside more than 3 days a week to work out together in the New Year. I think exercising together is doing a lot of good for our marriage. Not that we have a rocky marriage, but we certainly don’t spend as much time together as we should, and exercise is something that we have found that we can enjoy together.

Anyways, it was a nice and uneventful fun, which is refreshing after the rough week I had running last week.

Week 2, Day 2 Stats 12/18/2014

Distance: 2.4 miles (+0.29)

Time: 37 minutes 36 seconds (3:44)

Average Pace: 15 minutes 39 seconds per mile (-1:16)

Motivation: 4

Emotion: 4

AND

Week 2, Day 3 Stats 12/19/2014

Distance: 2.29 miles (-0.02)

Time: 36 minutes 11 seconds (-1:59)

Average Pace: 15 minutes 47 seconds per mile (-1:44)

Motivation: 4

Emotion: 4

Read about the equivalent days during C25K training here

2 thoughts on “A Long Week

  1. So wonderful to be out running with your hubby.
    Tomorrow is the shortest day of the year, and I happy the pendulum will turn so they will now get longer. Currently in Canada, I leave for work in the dark, and the sun has just set as I get in my car to come home from work. SAD is very, very real.
    Thank you for the follow. 🙂
    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

    • I too am glad that the solstice is tomorrow, I’m ready for my sunshine to come back! I do better now that I live in South Florida, as the sun shines frequently and even the short days are longer than they are up north, but even so I do take a noticeable turn for the worst depression-wise when November & December roll around

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

