Sending Out and Ringing In the New Year With a Run

This week is shaping up to be a busy one.

New Year’s was fairly uneventful, but AMIL wouldn’t let us ignore it completely (she was born in the wee hours of New Year’s Day, so she always parties on New Year’s).

My depression and anxiety have been taking turns ruling the roost. Running seems to be helping dispel the anxiety (even though I’m more likely to puke while running if I’m feeling a panic attack coming), but the depression has been a real bear.

Thanks to some friends in Orlando we are going to spend this weekend at Disney & Universal. They live right next to Disney and we have APs, so we are going to have a day in the Parks. Duffy is still in his Santa Suit, so I’ve been furiously working on completing a Santa Suit for EJ’s Duffy costume so I can get a picture that tops Halloween for Most Adorable Picture Ever.

I JUST finished it, with only 2 hours to spare before we hit the road

image

My friend works for Universal and for Christmas she gave us 1 Day passes for both Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure, so we are going to spend a day checking out Diagon Alley. I’ve only ever been to Islands of Adventure (to spend the day in Hogsmeade/Hogwarts) and I was pregnant with EJ at the time, so I didnt really get to do any rides, so I’m SUPER excited to be able to go back and properly enjoy all Universal has to offer.

Hopefully this little getaway is just what I need to reset my system and shake this crappy funk I’ve been in most of December.

We had a good workout on New Year’s Eve. The weather was nice and we had a decent pace. I’m not sure if we are going to get down to a 10 minute mile by the time we finish the 5k repeat part of our 10k training, but our most significant drop in pace during C25K was in the last 2-3 weeks of the program, so there is still a possibility that it will happen.

New Year’s Day we did our newly instituted “fun run” day. We mostly did a brisk walk, but our pace was still faster than most of our early days doing C25K. We were out for about an hour and went just under 3.5 miles.

All in all, it was a pretty good way to start off the new year.

We didn’t run yesterday, which we had planned to do to stay on schedule, so we will probably run tonight before we hit the road.

Week 4, Day 2 Stats 12/31/2014

Distance: 2.31 miles (+0.03)

Time: 34 minutes 56 seconds (-4:55)

Average Pace: 15 minutes 06 seconds per mile (-2:47)

Motivation: 3

Emotion: 3

Read about the equivalent days during C25K training here

8 thoughts on “Sending Out and Ringing In the New Year With a Run

    • I am! I’m actually working my way up to training to run a Marathon I’m Jan 2016. I use running as a way to treat my depression and anxiety (I’m currently unable to take medication and my doctor pointed me to some studies that say running is the next best thing)

      Like

      • Good luck! I ran two 10k’s before my depression started (too young to do a marathon – stupid UK laws) and I was going to do a half marathon but stopped training because of my depression. Running your first 10k will be an amazing experience, I can only imagine how running that marathon will feel… probably tiring! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m excited…well maybe that is not the right word as I still don’t feel a lot of positive emotions, but I’m looking forward to running some events. I’m running a 5k at the end of the month, and a 5k plus scavenger hunt in May. I’m looking for some 10k’s to run in the Spring and I have my eye set on a Half Marathon this summer

        Like

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Great start to the year indeed!

    Hey, I got a nice response to the Valentine Day card thing. Did you want to see about collaborating on it? No worries if not, just thinking ahead 🙂 If you do, just email me (notapunkrocker gmail)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

