Post-Run Recipe

Everyone has their favorite post-run foods.

My go-to is typically a Fried Egg Sandwich, but when I feel like putting a little more effort into cooking I like to make my play on “The Elvis

Just look how yummy that looks!

For each sandwich, you will need:

  • 2 Slices of Bread (I like using French Bread, but in the above picture I used Honey Oat, as it was all we had in the house)
  • 3-4 Slices of Bacon
  • Reese’s Spreads Peanut Butter Chocolate
  • Sweet Cream Brie or Mascarpone cheese (I usually use 6-8 oz for 2-4 sandwiches, depending on how hearty I want them…cream cheese is also an acceptable substitute)
  • 1/4-1/2 of a Banana (In the above picture I was out of banana so I used a tablespoon of Raspberry Preserves)

Cook your bacon to it’s desired doneness. Reserve the grease. While bacon is cooking, prepare rest of sandwich. Using a fork or immersion blender (if you like overkill, like Hubby) combine the cheese and the bananas/raspberry preserves, spread this mixture on one slice of bread. Spread the Reese’s Peanut Butter Chocolate spread on the other slice and top with the bacon. Put the two halves together and using a bit of the reserved bacon grease, toast the sandwich in a small pan over medium heat.

We used to make a version of this recipe with Chocolate Hazelnut Spread, but I’m not much of a hazenut lover, so I was super excited to give it a try with the Chocolate Peanut Butter spread and I was not disappointed.

Although I was sent the spread complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes, I have absolutely fallen in love with it (I’ve had to hide the jar from Hubby, who at almost half of it in one night!) and I have a feeling it will be a permanent installment in my pantry.

4 thoughts on “Post-Run Recipe

Leave a Reply

