The Liebster Award

Since I was first introduced to the concept of blog awards, I’ve pondered what I would do if I was nominated for one: would I just ignore it, or would I participate? I know a lot of bloggers think they are stupid, while others see them as a great opportunity to network and link up with other blogs.

I kind of fall in the middle of the two camps. I’m not going to go around bragging that I’ve been nominated for an award, but especially since my numbers are hurting this month (especially with me not blogging as consistently as I usually do), it certainly won’t hurt to participate.

So anyways, I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award by Tara over at After the Rain. Like me, she’s a runner and a mom. The more I read her blog, the more I discover we have in common, so she’s been a great blogging friend. Definitely go and check her out.

Anyways,the rules for the award are as follows:

  1. You have to post the award on your blog. (although I would say “have” is a strong word…post if you want to)
  2. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  3. Write 11 random facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and have less than 200 followers.
  5. Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter and ask your nominees a set of 11 new questions.

11 Random Facts About Me:

  1. I’ve moved 13 times in 27 years
  2. While I’m not fluent I can more or less fumble my way through a basic conversation in ASL (American Sign Language). I started learning in 3rd grade, but I’ve gotten a little rusty as I haven’t used it much in the last 7 or so years
  3. I met Hubby my freshman year of college and married him the month before we began our senior year
  4. I majored in History. My concentration was 19/20th century Ireland (mostly early 20th century, specifically the Anglo-Irish War), but I wrote my senior thesis on Absinthe.
  5. I minored in Biology because I had a bunch of science credits that transferred from the community college I attended before going to AMU and because Hubby was double majoring in History and Biology, so we had 90% of our classes together
  6. I am probably 60% of the reason Hubby decided to add the second major in History. The other 40% was our professors & the topics he studied (he wrote his thesis on gas warfare in WW1)
  7. Although I was born in Suburban Chicago, I consider myself a southerner as that is the culture I grew up in and most identify with from my 13 moves
  8. Although it is a common assumption when I talk about the number of times I’ve moved, my dad was not in the military.
  9. Despite all the moves, I’ve only lived in 6 states and have never lived outside the USA
  10. I wanted to go to Grad School in the UK or Ireland but for a variety of reasons I didn’t even apply
  11. I love to cook…or at least I did before my depression started getting bad. Hubby & I founded AMU’s (now defunct) cooking club. But I lost my love of everything food related but eating while in Houston. Although now that I’m a Pampered Chef consultant I’m slowly getting that love of the kitchen back.

Q&A

1. What is the story behind your blog name (even if it’s your name)?

I wanted something that reflected my journey to becoming a runner, my depression, and my love of Disney (especially because RunDisney is what motivated me to even take up running). I thought about using Eeyore as my mascot, but I couldn’t come up with a clever title. My mind kept wandering to Kingdom Hearts, a video game that is basically Disney meets Final Fantasy. And the image of a Heartless in running gear popped into my head. Originally I wasn’t like “YES THIS IS IT” but as I thought about it more, I realized that the heartless was a perfect representation of me as, like a depressed person, they are characterized by “their total lack of emotional capacity.” So I had my sister in law draw up Cora, my mascot and Running Heartless was born.

2. Is there one particular post you are most proud of? (Please link it)

I don’t know that there is one I’m particularly proud of, but I think my most meaningful post was my discussion of depression but on the lighter side of things, I’m also quite proud of my parody of “Baby Its Cold Outside”

3. Has anything surprised you about blogging?

I think the thing that has surprised me the most is how “successful” my blog has been. I expected it to mostly be read by a few family and friends, I never imagined I’d get over 100 followers and have an average monthly views in the 1000s. I also didn’t expect to make “friends” with readers/fellow bloggers, which has been a nice surprise.

4. What do you do when you procrastinate?

I typically nap or do stuff on the internet.

5. Do you have a favourite quote?

I have lots of favorite quotes. I used to have a journal that I would fill with different quotes that love. But these are my two current favorites:

Jerry Rice quote

Ratatioullie quote

6. If you had an entirely free day to spend on your own doing something for your own pleasure what would you do?

Spend a day at Disney World…big surprise, I know.

7. Do you prefer city, country or coast?

I kind of like it all for different reasons. I love the hustle and bustle of the city (I’ve always wanted to have a loft apartment in a downtown somewhere), especially a city with a good culinary scene and fine arts (ballet, opera, orchestra, museums of various types). I love the peace and quiet of the country, and my heart belongs to the sea, so I’m all about the coast (as a teen it used to be a joke that I was secretly part-Elven (of the LoTR variety) because I loved living in the woods, but my soul always longed for the sea. But right now I live in nearly the best of all worlds. While South Florida is not as wooded as I would like, Ave Maria is a nice little bit of suburbia in the middle of nowhere. Its peaceful, quiet, and there are tons of wild animals to be seen. It is about an hour inland from the Gulf Coast so I can enjoy the sea almost whenever I want. For a smaller city, Naples has a great & thriving fine arts culture, but if I really need the “big city” Miami and Orlando are both just a few hour’s drive.

8.Β Do you have a favourite book?

Ugh, too many books to choose a favorite. I love to read so its impossible to choose. While they aren’t my favorite to read, here are my 3 most prized books, in no particular order:
An autographed copy of Clinton Kelly’s Freakin’ Fabulous on a Budget. Clinton Kelly is one of my favorite TV personalities and his fashion advice has really helped me come into my own and be comfortable with my own style. I won this book in a contest he did on twitter during the release of the book.

I also treasure my autographed copy of Johnny Iuzzini’s Dessert FourPlay: Sweet Quartets from a Four-Star Pastry Chef. Johnny Iuzzini is my “Chef Crush” (all foodies have one). He is an incredible pastry chef, a rather good looking guy, and not to mention awesome in general. I’ve gotten to interact with him on twitter several times, he is really down to earth and personable with his fans. I got this book autographed by him a few years ago, when I had the pleasure to meet him at an event Macy’s was putting on. That day was one of the most memorable moments of my time in Houston. Not only did he recognize me from twitter as I went through the queue to try the delicious food he made that was being served in the food truck, but when we went back to ask for seconds for EJ (who just devoured his first helping) we chatted a bit and I told him that EJ loves not only food, but being in the kitchen and “helping” cook (when he’s not cooking in his play kitchen). So Johnny invited EJ to have a look around the truck:

EJ and Johnny Iuzzini

Be Still My Heart!

me & Johnny

I was on Cloud 9 for the rest of the day

There is one more book that is a prized possession, The European Culture Wars in Ireland: The Callan Schools Affair, 1868-81. This is a book my mentor wrote, which I am mentioned by name in the acknowledgements. I also had the pleasure of spending an entire class listening to him read the unpublished manuscript then writing my own essay on the Callan Schools Affar, which is a rather unique and (like most of Irish History) borderline insane story.

9. Are you a morning person?

Only if you include that, thanks to my insomnia I’m many time not falling asleep until “morning”

10. Did you have a favourite television programme as a child?

As a kid I LOVED the Teenaged Mutant Ninja Turtles, I also watched a lot of classic PBS kids programming: Zoom, Bill Nye the Science Guy, Square One, etc.

11. What is the one thing you would tell your younger self.

Don’t worry so much about the future, it won’t turn out how you expect it anyways.

I would like to present my awards to the following bloggers (in no particular order)

1. A Long Run

2. See Fleck Run

3. Ora et Labora et Maternitas

4. Run, Cupcake, Run

5. Doombuggy Runner

6. Lucky Rabbit’s Foot

7. Young Mom Souvenirs

8. Why I Run Disney

Sorry, I only have 8 people that I follow who meet the 200 or less requirement.

Please Answer these Questions:

1.What do you do when you aren’t blogging?

2. What made you decide to start blogging?

3. Milk, Dark, or White Chocolate?

4. What is your favorite theme park?

5. What is your favorite ride at any theme park (your favorite or any other theme park)

6. If you could have any job in the world, what would you do?

7. What is your all time favorite GIF?

8. What is your “go to” comfort food?

9. What is your all time favorite Meme?

10. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

11. Do you have a “bucket list”? If you were only able to do one thing on that list, which one would you choose and why?

17 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

